The Mercedes-Benz Art Collection was founded in 1977 and is now one of the most important European corporate collections of museum quality and international renown. The collection includes around 3,000 works by over 800 artists – including world-famous artists such as Cao Fei, Sylvie Fleury, Charlotte Posenenske, Oskar Schlemmer, Franz Erhard Walther and Andy Warhol.

The collection focuses on abstract-constructive pictorial concepts, critically-engaged art, and representative works and commissions on themes such as automobility, design, and construction. Its diverse spectrum of media ranges from painting, drawing, sculpture, object and light art to installation, photography and video. The collection profile focuses on the abstract avant-gardes of the 20th century and international contemporary art. Examples of abstract artworks from the 20th century range from the Bauhaus and classical modernism, concrete art, constructivism and art informel after 1945 to the European ZERO movement, minimalism and conceptual art, Neo Geo, postminimalism, and conceptual tendencies.(For more see: Focal Points)

Social commitment: communicating art and promoting encounters with new ideas

The Mercedes-Benz Art Collection embodies Mercedes-Benz’s broad social commitment to culture and education. With the art collection, the company aims to create a recognisable benefit for the common good. The basis for this is Mercedes-Benz’s self-perception of responding responsibly to social issues and developments. As part of a global business enterprise whose employees are active in the most diverse cultural spheres, the Mercedes-Benz Art Collection sees the communication of art within and outside the company as a central task. With over 40 years of history, the collection is an integral part of the corporate culture. The Mercedes-Benz Art Collection aims to give its audience access to artistic worlds and promote encounters with new ideas and topics. Art is an expression of our human thinking, life, and actions: it is a mirror of society that helps us to reflect on our own behaviour and thus also to rethink our points of view. Art offers people intellectual and sensory space for open dialogue and encounters with new things.

Enabling dialogue: Exhibitions inside and outside the company

The Mercedes-Benz Art Collection makes the collection accessible to a broad public interested in art through exhibitions of the artworks in the company and in museums. The aim is to connect people.

A large part of the collection is on display at various Mercedes-Benz locations – some permanently, some temporarily. This enables employees to encounter the cultural, social, political and aesthetic concepts of modern and contemporary art in their day-to-day work. In this way, the Mercedes-Benz Art Collection goes far beyond the idea of merely decorating the enterprise.

Furthermore, the Mercedes-Benz Art Collection is permanently exhibiting some of its works in the Mercedes-Benz Museum in Stuttgart. Under the title “Now on View. Works from the Mercedes-Benz Art Collection in the Mercedes-Benz Museum”, the art collection presents classics and more recent acquisitions in changing exhibitions. In addition, the collection presents its works in various exhibitions and as loans in renowned German and international museums (e.g. New York, Los Angeles, Johannesburg, Tokyo, Singapore, London, Bilbao and Sao Paulo). The collection’s activities are experienced as an attractive platform to promote dialogue and social encounters.

Die Mercedes-Benz Art Collection wurde 1977 gegründet und zählt heute zu den bedeutenden europäischen Unternehmenssammlungen mit musealer Qualität und internationalem Renommee. Zur Sammlung gehören rund 3.000 Werke von über 800 Künstlerinnen und Künstlern – darunter weltbekannter Künstlerinnen und Künstler wie Cao Fei, Sylvie Fleury, Charlotte Posenenske, Oskar Schlemmer, Franz Erhard Walther und Andy Warhol.

Die Art Collection konzentriert sich auf abstrakt-konstruktive Bildkonzepte, kritisch-engagierte Kunst sowie repräsentative Werke und Auftragsarbeiten zu Themen wie Automobilität, Design oder Konstruktion. Das vielfältige Medienspektrum reicht von Malerei, Zeichnung, Skulptur sowie Objekt- und Lichtkunst bis zu Installation, Fotografie und Video. Schwerpunkte des Sammlungsprofils sind die abstrakten Avantgarden des 20. Jahrhunderts und internationale zeitgenössische Kunst. Beispiele von Abstraktion im 20. Jahrhundert reichen von Bauhaus und klassischer Moderne, konkreter Kunst, Konstruktivismus und Informel nach 1945 bis zu europäischer ZERO-Kunst, Minimalismus und Conceptual Art, Neo Geo, Postminimalismus und konzeptuellen Tendenzen. (Mehr unter: Schwerpunkte der Sammlung)

Gesellschaftliches Engagement: Kunst vermitteln und Begegnung mit Neuem fördern

Die Mercedes-Benz Art Collection verkörpert das breite gesellschaftliche Engagement von Mercedes-Benz für Kultur und Bildung. Mit der Kunstsammlung möchte das Unternehmen einen erkennbaren Nutzen für das Gemeinwohl stiften. Basis dafür ist das Selbstverständnis von Mercedes-Benz, verantwortungsvoll auf gesellschaftliche Fragen und Entwicklungen zu reagieren. Als Teil eines globalen Wirtschaftsunternehmens, dessen Mitarbeitende sich in den unterschiedlichsten kulturellen Sphären bewegen, sieht die Art Collection die Vermittlung von Kunst innerhalb und außerhalb des Unternehmens als zentrale Aufgabe an. Mit ihrer über 40-jährigen Geschichte ist die Art Collection fester Bestandteil der Unternehmenskultur. Die Mercedes-Benz Art Collection möchte ihrem Publikum Zugänge zu künstlerischen Lebenswelten öffnen und die Begegnung mit Neuem fördern. Kunst ist Ausdruck unseres menschlichen Denkens, Lebens und Handelns: Sie ist ein Spiegel der Gesellschaft, der uns hilft, unser eigenes Verhalten zu reflektieren und dadurch auch unseren Standpunkt zu überdenken. Kunst bietet Menschen gedanklich und sinnlich erfahrbare Freiräume für einen offenen Austausch und die Begegnung mit Neuem.

Austausch ermöglichen: Ausstellungen innerhalb und außerhalb des Unternehmens

Mit Ausstellungen der Kunstwerke im Unternehmen und in Museen macht die Mercedes-Benz Art Collection die Sammlung einem breiten kunstinteressierten Publikum zugänglich. Ziel ist es, Menschen zusammenzubringen.

Ein großer Teil des Bestands der Art Collection ist an verschiedenen Mercedes-Benz Standorten – teils ständig, teils temporär – zu sehen. So können die Mitarbeitenden im Arbeitsalltag den kulturellen, sozialen, politischen und ästhetischen Konzepten moderner und zeitgenössischer Kunst begegnen. Damit geht die Mercedes-Benz Art Collection in ihrer Zielsetzung weit über den Gedanken an eine bloß dekorative Ausstattung des Konzerns hinaus.

Des Weiteren zeigt die Mercedes-Benz Art Collection einen Teil ihrer Werke dauerhaft im Mercedes-Benz Museum in Stuttgart. Unter dem Titel »Now on View. Werke der Mercedes-Benz Art Collection im Mercedes-Benz Museum« präsentiert die Kunstsammlung Klassiker und jüngere Erwerbungen in wechselnden Ausstellungen. Zusätzlich zeigt die Sammlung ihre Werke in Ausstellungen und als Leihgaben in renommierten deutschen und internationalen Museen (z. B. New York, Los Angeles, Johannesburg, Tokio, Singapur, London, Bilbao und Sao Paulo). Die Kunstaktivitäten der Sammlung werden als attraktive Plattform für Austausch und soziale Begegnung erlebt.